Welcome to Drone Racing!

Sign up and join the fastest growing drone racing forum!

Rx problem, lights on but nobody’s home

Discussion in 'Transmitters & Receivers' started by Squiggle, Feb 22, 2018.

  1. Squiggle

    Squiggle Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2018
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    27
    So I’ve finally got my first drone built, hooked up to betaflight, motors & FC in the right orientation & running the right way, now I’m getting no signal on betaflight for the receiver. As the heading says, lights on but nobody’s home. I’m using a DX6 with a Redcon CM703 (bg link below). The binding process went according to plan, got all solid lights & threw it in the quad. Now, the light is on all the time, with or without the controller being on, so I’m thinking it the rx & not a problem in the betaflight settings. What do you guys think?

    REDCON CM703 2.4GHZ 7CH DSM2 DSMX Compatible Receiver With Satellite PPM PWM Output Sale - Banggood Mobile
     
  2. VirtueViolater

    VirtueViolater Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2016
    Messages:
    2,056
    Likes Received:
    1,907
    Location:
    Mobile Alabama
    Did you set receiver protocol in betaflight?
     
  3. Squiggle

    Squiggle Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2018
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    27
    I believe I did, but I have no idea what I’m doing & none of the YouTube vids are for my rx &/or fc/esc so I’m not sure it’s right.
     
  4. HighTechPauper

    HighTechPauper Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2017
    Messages:
    814
    Likes Received:
    916
    Location:
    The Chesapeake Bay
    So what settings did you pick for Receiver and Provider? Here is mine for instance, and if I read things correctly, yours would probably be set to Provider SPEKTRUM1024 or SPEKTRUM2048 I would think if it is DSM2/DSMX compat.


    upload_2018-2-22_23-53-52.png
     
  5. Squiggle

    Squiggle Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2018
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    27
    Yep, that’s the settings I have for that section
     
  6. RENOV8R

    RENOV8R Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2018
    Messages:
    148
    Likes Received:
    201
    So for Serial Receiver Provider, you have Spektrum2048 selected? (Spektrum1024 is for DSM2 receivers) Also, have you enabled the correct UART under RX in the Ports tab?
    upload_2018-2-23_9-44-35.jpeg
     
  7. Squiggle

    Squiggle Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2018
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    27
    Yeah I have set those parameters, but my tab pages are a bit different to the ones above. I’m using version 10 of betaflight so I’m not sure if that makes a difference.

    In the ports tab I have an extra confit setting line called “USB” above the three UART lines & that was set as on, the UART1 is also on & the UART3 serial switch is on, is this correct?

    In the config tab it is set to SPEKTRUM & SBUS, as I wired the rx to the SBUS tab on the FC board, but I will change that to 2048 when I get home. I did try those setting before but no joy.

    Now I just want to also check I have the rx wired up properly, what is the correct colour orientation on the FC? I have a black, grey & orange wire, I’m guessing the black is ground but wasn’t sure on the other two. I’m so used to the old black, white & red wires that are pretty simple to wire up.
     
  8. RENOV8R

    RENOV8R Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2018
    Messages:
    148
    Likes Received:
    201
    Ahaha, your Redcon receiver is only PPM output, no sBus. No big deal, in the Configuration Tab for the receiver type dropdown use “PPM RX Input”. Also, what flight controller are you using?
     
  9. Squiggle

    Squiggle Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2018
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    27
  10. Squiggle

    Squiggle Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2018
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    27
    So I’ve given up on the satellite & wired up the base rx, it’s a bit bigger but at least the light goes on & off when I turn on my tx. The only problem is that I still can’t see the signal in betaflight, I changed the config to “PPM RX input” but there’s still nadda in the receiver tab. I’m running out of ideas, I just need to rx to talk to the fc, waaaaaa!!!! :(
     
  11. JohnnyNotech

    JohnnyNotech Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2017
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    36
    Post some screenshots of your Rx tabs
     
  12. Squiggle

    Squiggle Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2018
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    27
    Here are the pics
    Untitled.jpg Untitled1.jpg Untitled2.jpg
     
  13. JohnnyNotech

    JohnnyNotech Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2017
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    36
    All my quads are mapped TAER
     
  14. JohnnyNotech

    JohnnyNotech Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2017
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    36

    Attached Files:

  15. Squiggle

    Squiggle Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2018
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    27
    Bugger!! That would explain that problem. Guess I’ll just have to wait for a replacement satellite, I’ve just ordered an SMP4648, should be here in a couple of days. Fingers crossed that this one will work.
     
  16. JohnnyNotech

    JohnnyNotech Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2017
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    36
    Good plan
     
    Squiggle likes this.
  17. Squiggle

    Squiggle Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2018
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    27
    DAD08D9F-A002-4520-829D-A15B66BF5D35.jpeg Ok, my next question is where do I get the 3v on my fc for the new satellite? I can’t see anywhere on it that says 3v, only 5v.
     
  18. VirtueViolater

    VirtueViolater Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2016
    Messages:
    2,056
    Likes Received:
    1,907
    Location:
    Mobile Alabama
    Have a pic of the other side?
     
  19. JohnnyNotech

    JohnnyNotech Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2017
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    36
    Can’t see it, shoulda gone for the 4649t. I’m sure there’ll be someone who might be able to explain the use of a pololu, if that’s possible. I can’t
     
    Squiggle likes this.