Welcome to FPVDronePilots!
Join our free FPV drone community today!

I need some help.

Kongkameltoe

Reaction score
I can normally figure out stuff like this on my own but I'm brand new to drones period. I bought a rtf Arris xspeed and the thing drifts forward or to the right. When I put it in non acro mode it almost flips over on take off. I can use the trim buttons and get it up in the air but I have to compensate the entire time and end up crashing since its still drifts so bad. I cant find anything online about recalibrating the gyro or compass? Any help is much appreciated.

Hook the quad up to betaflight/cleanflight. Put the drone so it sits level, and click "calibrate accelerometer".

Go to receiver tab, move the sticks and see if the bars move. If not, plug in the quad battery. With your sticks centered, each channel should read 1500us. At min they should be 1000us and at max 2000us. If they don't, set each of them using the sub-trim and endpoints menus in your radio's settings menu. Set a deadband of about 4us for pitch/roll and yaw.

Is this software that is given with the drone or is it something I have to download? How would I know if I have betaflight or cleanflight?

It has either cleanflight or betaflight installed already (betaflight I would guess?). Cleanflight and Betaflight each have their own chrome browser configurator app.

Download the app, then open it and on the first page you will find driver links. Install the first two drivers (a bit of a chore to download, requires registering). Do this before plugging in the Flight Controller to USB. That should get you going.

I reeeeeaallllly didnt want to start messing with computer stuff till I got into it more. What the hell is rtf good for if its not really rtf grrrrr. Thanks for the help though. If using the trim on the transmitter doesnt work I guess this is the only other thing it could be. Can you do this on an android phone by chance?