Welcome to Drone Racing!

How long?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Bstanton89, May 16, 2018.

1. Bstanton89

Bstanton89 New Member

how long did it take some of you from the time you started flying fpv in acro until you could consistently fly a very basic track? I’ve been flying in the liftoff simulator for a couple of months(not everyday) but i feel like I’m just not grasping the fine control thing. And it has resulted in my having to replace parts every time I fly the real deal. I know, I know, crashing and rebuilding is part of it, but I feel like whatever progress I was making at first is stalled, I’m just not getting any better at fine control. Any tips or anybody care to honestly share about how long it took them to get it down?

M3talrocksFPV likes this.
  2. theGreenOrange

theGreenOrange Well-Known Member

Maybe your rates are too high, making the controls too sensitive.

I think it took me about 25 or 30 packs before it "clicked". I would get a tiny whoop to practice in smaller spaces. Less walking and easier to squeeze in a flight during a busy day.

3. Bstanton89

Bstanton89 New Member

Yes, that would be fun for lunch breaks and stuff, but I gotta cool it on my quad spending atleast until the wife cools back down, lol, just started from scratch about a month ago, built a quad, got goggles, and a transmitter, batteries, charger, basically everything to get started, do you have any recommendations for rates for a beginner? I just wanna be able to fly a track eventually. Not looking to break any speed records, just successfully fly a whole track without crashing out.

Wayno52 and M3talrocksFPV like this.
  4. theGreenOrange

Just lower RC rates by 30% (change the one column labeled RC rates for all axes except throttle) and see how you like that. I think they have changed the numbering system since I have looked at it.

NeoCloneOne and M3talrocksFPV like this.
  5. theGreenOrange

6. M3talrocksFPV

M3talrocksFPV Active Member