Welcome to FPVDronePilots!
Join our free FPV drone community today!

Would it be a waste for me to buy a FrSky X9D Plus SE?

CC268

Reaction score
I am new to FPV and drones, but certainly not to RC. I currently have a Spektrum DX9 Black Edition and it has been spectacular for my fixed wing airplanes. That said, I have noticed pretty quickly that Spektrum isn't exactly the most popular of transmitters for FPV due to their lack of integrated telemetry, etc.

It seems like an overwhelming amount of folks are using an FrSky transmitter, whether it is a QX7, X9D, X9D Plus SE, etc. The amount of resources online (specifically YouTube) to set these things up is amazing. I am impressed with how much you can do with OpenTX. It also seems like much of the FPV industry is very FrSky (and FlySky) oriented.

So...I am seriously considering purchasing a FrSky X9D Plus SE (carbon fiber) and the X4R-SB receiver for my current quad and to use for all my future FPV needs. I looked at the Horus X10S, but honestly doesn't seem like the best choice for FPV.

Looking for honest opinions here. I really don't mind paying for the X9D Plus SE (which is relatively inexpensive) if there is some value in doing so.

Should I just stick with my DX9 BE for now or should I go ahead and pick up an X9D Plus SE?

Thanks.

Welp I went ahead an ordered an X9D Plus SE. I can always sell it if I don't like it.

I use FrSky, they are known for the best range and reliability as near as I can tell.
The SE is a killer RC, just make sure you understand the possibility of blowing the TX board if the antenna is bad, or not making good contact, or not on, when you power it up.

I use FrSky, they are known for the best range and reliability as near as I can tell.
The SE is a killer RC, just make sure you understand the possibility of blowing the TX board if the antenna is bad, or not making good contact, or not on, when you power it up.
Seems to be pretty common

Reactions: HighTechPauper