Welcome to Drone Racing!

Sign up and join the fastest growing drone racing forum!

Wizard X220s VTX

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Sambo1988, May 24, 2018.

  1. Sambo1988

    Sambo1988 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2017
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    36
    Hi All

    I have decided to upgrade my 3 inch to a 5 inch wizard x220s.
    I had it delivered Tuesday I installed my receiver and camera set up in beta flight but when i went to fly it was transmitting a black picture, i spent a good few hours checking everything and could not find a fault, my friend popped round and i tried his wizards vtx and all was good. I spoke to the seller and they would replace the vtx after i proved with a video, when i went to record the video the dodgy vtx was working flawlessly and i tried every channel and wobbled all connections.
    I am baffled any ideas what could of caused this.

    thanks
     
  2. theGreenOrange

    theGreenOrange Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2016
    Messages:
    2,440
    Likes Received:
    1,704
    Location:
    New Orleans, LA, USA
    Lens cap?
     
    NeoCloneOne likes this.
  3. Sambo1988

    Sambo1988 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2017
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    36
    I’m not that daft lol
     
    NeoCloneOne and Wayno52 like this.
  4. Wayno52

    Wayno52 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2017
    Messages:
    935
    Likes Received:
    825
    Location:
    Wait A While Western Australia
    Haha i thought the same thing Green.
     
    NeoCloneOne likes this.
  5. Wayno52

    Wayno52 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2017
    Messages:
    935
    Likes Received:
    825
    Location:
    Wait A While Western Australia
  6. Sambo1988

    Sambo1988 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2017
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    36
    Goggles are fine tried two sets.

    If I’d of spent 3 hours trying to sort it with the lens cap on I’d give up lol.

    Just can’t get my head round it
     
    Wayno52 likes this.
  7. Wayno52

    Wayno52 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2017
    Messages:
    935
    Likes Received:
    825
    Location:
    Wait A While Western Australia
    Just one of things to ask. Lens cap has been an unsuspecting fault before.
     
    NeoCloneOne likes this.
  8. Wayno52

    Wayno52 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2017
    Messages:
    935
    Likes Received:
    825
    Location:
    Wait A While Western Australia
    Anything on screen at all?
     
  9. Sambo1988

    Sambo1988 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2017
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    36
    Nothing from the osd but the battery meter from the Goggles was on
     
  10. Sambo1988

    Sambo1988 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2017
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    36
    Yes mate everything set up correctly
     
  11. Wayno52

    Wayno52 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2017
    Messages:
    935
    Likes Received:
    825
    Location:
    Wait A While Western Australia
    So is it working now or not?
     
  12. Sambo1988

    Sambo1988 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2017
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    36
    Yes everything is working fine just can’t explain it
     
    Wayno52 likes this.
  13. theGreenOrange

    theGreenOrange Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2016
    Messages:
    2,440
    Likes Received:
    1,704
    Location:
    New Orleans, LA, USA
    Sounds like power connection was not working on initial vtx install.
     
    NeoCloneOne likes this.
  14. Wayno52

    Wayno52 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2017
    Messages:
    935
    Likes Received:
    825
    Location:
    Wait A While Western Australia
    Well sometimes things just happen. I’ve had a few things I cannot explain. But I’m not techy at all. I say fly and see if it happens again. Just be a bit cautious
     
    NeoCloneOne likes this.
  15. theGreenOrange

    theGreenOrange Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2016
    Messages:
    2,440
    Likes Received:
    1,704
    Location:
    New Orleans, LA, USA
    it's happened to me xD

    Didnt know about the 3 hour part though...
     
    NeoCloneOne and Wayno52 like this.
  16. Sambo1988

    Sambo1988 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2017
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    36
    Thanks guys

    I’ll just keep on flying and see what happens

    Just have to stop thinking about figuring it out

    Thanks

    Sam
     
    NeoCloneOne likes this.
  17. VirtueViolater

    VirtueViolater Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2016
    Messages:
    2,056
    Likes Received:
    1,907
    Location:
    Mobile Alabama
    That would be troubling till proven....lol. Nothing worse than a blackout mid-flight
     
    NeoCloneOne and Wayno52 like this.
  18. NeoCloneOne

    NeoCloneOne Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2017
    Messages:
    141
    Likes Received:
    107
    It sounds like that vtx may be sketchy. I would change it out if I were you. Yes, there is nothing worse than losing video tx during flight (at that point, hopefully you saw the close surroundings of the last picture, failsafe the quad and then go search where it dropped). Try a different vtx, I recommend a 600mW one. This one works well:
    TS5828S Micro VTX 5.8G 600mW 48CH Mini FPV Transmitter SMA RP-SMA for RC Drone Sale - Banggood Mobile
     
  19. Sambo1988

    Sambo1988 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2017
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    36
    Hi all

    This problem has occurred again and it appears to be the F.C. not the vtx I have test two vtx units and they act the same. Does anyone know what this problem might be.

    Regards
     
  20. theGreenOrange

    theGreenOrange Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2016
    Messages:
    2,440
    Likes Received:
    1,704
    Location:
    New Orleans, LA, USA
    I can think of a few possibilities:

    1. Sufficient voltage is not being supplied to the camera or VTX.
    2. Something is wrong with the OSD on your FC (settings or hardware).
    3. Camera problem (like bad camera).

    Did you check the voltage being supplied to the camera and to the VTX with a multimeter? I would do this first.

    If that looks good, I would take the OSD out of the equation temporarily. Solder the camera and VTX video wires together (use wires now connected to OSD in and OSD out).
     
    VirtueViolater and NeoCloneOne like this.