Welcome to FPVDronePilots!
Join our free FPV drone community today!

Wizard X220 broken motor or ESC?

Frisbee

Reaction score
Hi All,

I flew my Wizard X220 using FPV for the first time today and somehow managed to damage it when landing. : (
Now, when I give it a little throttle the prop twitches a little bit and the ESC gets immediately hot. (The other three props spin like normal, and their ESCs do not get hot.)

Does anyone know how I should repair it?

BTW, I'm very new to this. I practiced for a few months with several different nanos, and with the DRL simulator for learning FPV. And I actually made it through two batteries without any problems... Flying FPV for the first time today was the most amazing and surreal experience, dream-like, and literally like a real life out of body experience where I could see myself as I flew away. I want to fly again so badly.

Does the motor seem normal when you spin it by hand? It is most likely either a bad motor or ESC. You can swap two motors to diagnose.
Hi TheGreenOrange,

Yes, all motors, including the questionable one, seem to turn freely in ~30 degree increments. So you think this would indicate the ESC is damaged?

So I'm guessing I should purchase some spare motors and ESC, and then learn how to replace them?

It still could be the motor. Easiest way to check is to just swap two of your motors and see if the problem follows the motor or stays with the ESC. You just need a soldering iron, some solder and preferably a desoldering wick or bulb.