Welcome to FPVDronePilots!
Join our free FPV drone community today!

Three motors have stopped working. What could the cause be?

DanJustDan

Reaction score
Hey everyone, beginner here.

I've been following Oscar Liang's guide for building your first FPV racing drone and three of my motors have stopped working. I have the same parts Liang uses in the tutorial and after installing and testing in BetaFlight all motors, each motor worked just fine. I then installed the radio transmitter, tried to connect it with my Taranis qX7, and went to test the motors one last time. When I did so only one motor was spinning. The rest remained motionless whenever I throttled up in BetaFlight. Does anyone know where this problem could have originated?

Thanks

Addition:

I've tried re-soldering my connections for one of the non-moving motors, but to no effect.

I've also swapped the signal wire and later the motors to test whether the motors or the ESCs are broken. Since the motor that spins is only on one arm, I know that the three motors are the cause of the problem, not the ESCs. Perhaps the dented packaging of the motors was a foreshadow to this predicament.

Edit: I replaced the motor on the spinning arm and found that the same arm worked perfectly. This likely means the ESCs are the problem not the motors, my mistake.

Last edited:
Addition:

I've tried re-soldering my connections for one of the non-moving motors, but to no effect.

I've also swapped the signal wire and later the motors to test whether the motors or the ESCs are broken. Since the motor that spins is only on one arm, I know that the three motors are the cause of the problem, not the ESCs. Perhaps the dented packaging of the motors was a foreshadow to this predicament. :p
Sounds a bit weird. If the motors spool up in Betaflight, I’m thinking the motors and esc’s are fine. If the Bell housings were dented, you wouldn’t be able to spin them by hand.