Welcome to FPVDronePilots!
Join our free FPV drone community today!

Strange Issue with IMU Related to RC

stbuebel

Reaction score
Hey everyone,

I'm an undergrad student studying engineering, finally building my first racing drone, and have run into a bizarre issue:

When I connect my drone via USB to Betaflight, I can see the IMU output and everything works as expected. When I turn on my RC transmitter, again, everything works fine, and roll, pitch, yaw seem acceptable. If I turn off the RC and plug in the flight battery, everything is still fine. When I plug in the flight battery and turn on the RC transmitter, I can read the RC signals, but the IMU bugs, with strange drift in roll, pitch, and yaw. It doesn't seem like a typical mag interference problem as I have moved the FC away from high current wires and I have to conclude that it is caused by the combination of RC transmitter and flight battery.

Here are my drone's specs:
-Frame Anniversary Special Edition Martian 215 215mm Carbon Fiber RC Drone FPV Racing Frame Kit 136g
-Flight Controller Micro 20x20mm Betaflight Omnibus STM32F4 F4 Brushless Flight Controller Integrated with BEC OSD
-ESCs Racerstar RS20Ax4 20A 4 in 1 Blheli_S Opto ESC 2-4S Support Dshot150 Dshot300 for RC FPV Racing Drone
-Motors 4X Racerstar Racing Edition 2205 BR2205 2300KV 2-4S Brushless Motor Black For 210 X220 250 280 RC Drone
-Transmitter FlySky FSi6 (cheap one)
-Battery
AHTECH Infinity 4S 14.8V 1500mAh 85C Graphene LiPo Battery XT60 Support 15C Boosting Charger

Has anyone heard of anything like this?

Thanks,
Spencer

Not sure if you calibrated your accelerometer in Betaflight to ensure your quad is correctly aligned and level but you can also trim a lot of your drifting issues with your controller. Should work with Flysky. Courtesy of Joshua Barswell:

Reactions: irish-apple