Welcome to DroneRacingPilots!
Join our free drone racing community today!
Sign up

Still Learning

PhoenixFord

Well-Known Member
Joined
Dec 5, 2016
Messages
216
Reaction score
57
Age
57
Location
Cabot, AR.
OK guys, correct me if I'm wrong please. In order for vTx and vRx to connect, both the band and the channel have to match? Will matching channels work across different bands?

Trying to figure this stuff out. ???

Thanks
Randy
 

PhoenixFord

Well-Known Member
Joined
Dec 5, 2016
Messages
216
Reaction score
57
Age
57
Location
Cabot, AR.
Phoenix,

Both band and channel must match.

Jerry

Ok, that is what I thought. I was working toward getting the FS Goggles. Already purchased a Lumenier 32ch vTx for my new build. This Tx seems to be compatible with a lot of different Rx's. SO - last night I ran across what looks like a good deal on a pair of Skyzone goggles with built in 32 ch diversity receiver. Further research looks like it MAY only have 2 channels compatible??? Since I already made the purchase, I guess 2 possibilities are better than ZERO.
 

PhoenixFord

Well-Known Member
Joined
Dec 5, 2016
Messages
216
Reaction score
57
Age
57
Location
Cabot, AR.
Nah, it's going to have most channels available, if not all. Sounds like you'll get all channels but Raceband.

Jerry

I hope your right. Since I'm still learning, good chance I'm looking in the wrong place.
 

Jtrjr

Well-Known Member
Joined
Mar 9, 2016
Messages
1,528
Reaction score
1,220
Location
Texas
Website
www.youtube.com
Don't sweat it, I just looked up Lumenier VTX and it's got bands a, b, e, f and they're compatible with the Fatshark. Just look up your VTX model and look at the chart for it. Then do the same for whatever module you purchased for your Fatshark.

Jerry
 

PhoenixFord

Well-Known Member
Joined
Dec 5, 2016
Messages
216
Reaction score
57
Age
57
Location
Cabot, AR.
Here is what I found so far:
https://www.foxtechfpv.com/product/allinonegoggle/SKYZONE/SKYZONE FPV Goggle-English.pdf
------- 1 ----- 2 ------ 3 ----- 4 ------- 5 ------ 6------ 7 ------- 8 ---
1) - 5865 - 5845 - 5825 - 5805 - 5785 - 5765 - 5745 - 5725
2) - 5733 - 5752 - 5771 - 5790 - 5809 - 5828 - 5847 - 5866
3) - 5705 - 5685 - 5665 - 5645 - 5885 - 5905 - 5925 - 5945
4) - 5740 - 5760 - 5780 - 5800 - 5820 - 5840 - 5860 - 5880

Lumenier TX5G6R Mini 600mW 5.8GHz FPV Transmitter with Raceband
------- 1 ------ 2 ------ 3 ------ 4 ----- 5 ------- 6------- 7 ------ 8 ---
1) - 5740 - 5760 - 5780 - 5800 - 5820 - 5840 - 5860 - 5880 FS / IRC
2) - 5705 - 5685 - 5665 - 5752 - 5885 - 5905 - 5925 - 5866 Lumenier / DJI
3) - 5865 - 5845 - 5825 - 5805 - 5785 - 5765 - 5745 - 5725 Bosecam A
4) - 5658 - 5695 - 5732 - 5769 - 5806 - 5843 - 5880 - 5917 Raceband

I don't know. Looks like I will have two channels on "Band 2". And one channel on "Raceband" ??? Assuming the bandwidths are identical?
 

PhoenixFord

Well-Known Member
Joined
Dec 5, 2016
Messages
216
Reaction score
57
Age
57
Location
Cabot, AR.
Looks like Band 2, cannel 5752 is closest to the center of the Frequency. If that works, I'm fine with that.

Is my thinking correct???
 

Jtrjr

Well-Known Member
Joined
Mar 9, 2016
Messages
1,528
Reaction score
1,220
Location
Texas
Website
www.youtube.com
https://www.foxtechfpv.com/product/allinonegoggle/SKYZONE/SKYZONE FPV Goggle-English.pdf
------- 1 ----- 2 ------ 3 ----- 4 ------- 5 ------ 6------ 7 ------- 8 ---
1) - 5865 - 5845 - 5825 - 5805 - 5785 - 5765 - 5745 - 5725 Bosecam A
2) - 5733 - 5752 - 5771 - 5790 - 5809 - 5828 - 5847 - 5866
3) - 5705 - 5685 - 5665 - 5645 - 5885 - 5905 - 5925 - 5945 Lumenier/DJI
4) - 5740 - 5760 - 5780 - 5800 - 5820 - 5840 - 5860 - 5880 FS/IRC

Lumenier TX5G6R Mini 600mW 5.8GHz FPV Transmitter with Raceband
------- 1 ------ 2 ------ 3 ------ 4 ----- 5 ------- 6------- 7 ------ 8 ---
1) - 5740 - 5760 - 5780 - 5800 - 5820 - 5840 - 5860 - 5880 FS / IRC
2) - 5705 - 5685 - 5665 - 5752 - 5885 - 5905 - 5925 - 5866 Lumenier / DJI
3) - 5865 - 5845 - 5825 - 5805 - 5785 - 5765 - 5745 - 5725 Bosecam A
4) - 5658 - 5695 - 5732 - 5769 - 5806 - 5843 - 5880 - 5917 Raceband

I'm going to guess that the bands are the way I'm showing them. That being said, I'm fairly new to this stuff too. Hopefully, Green or someone with a bit more experience will chime in.

Jerry
 

PhoenixFord

Well-Known Member
Joined
Dec 5, 2016
Messages
216
Reaction score
57
Age
57
Location
Cabot, AR.
I'm going to guess that the bands are the way I'm showing them. That being said, I'm fairly new to this stuff too. Hopefully, Green or someone with a bit more experience will chime in.

Jerry

IDK. The Lumenier chart seem to be the most popular / widely used. I've seen it pop up often during my research. The Skyzone chart seems to be the "Odd-Ball". I've only seen that config posted with other Sky-- Tx's and Rx's.
 

Jtrjr

Well-Known Member
Joined
Mar 9, 2016
Messages
1,528
Reaction score
1,220
Location
Texas
Website
www.youtube.com
What I'm trying to say is the bands are actually letters not numbers. Just because the Skyzone says "Band 1" doesn't mean it's "Band 1" on the Lumenier. What I believe is that "Band 1" on the Skyzone is actually "Band 3" (Band A) on the Lumenier. "Band 3" on the Skyzone is actually "Band 2" (Band E) on the Lumenier. "Band 4" on the Syzone is actually "Band 1" (Band IRC/FS). Which would leave "Band 2" on the Skyzone as "Band 4" (Raceband) on the Lumenier. I don't get the Raceband channel differences.

That's the way I'm seeing it anyway.

Jerry
 

PhoenixFord

Well-Known Member
Joined
Dec 5, 2016
Messages
216
Reaction score
57
Age
57
Location
Cabot, AR.
Ok Jerry. I see where your going with this. Boy that really gets my head spinning though. I was thinking that the Lumenier channel on the Skyzone was the channel with 2 matching channels? Which would be Band 2 on both?
 

theGreenOrange

Well-Known Member
Joined
Oct 18, 2016
Messages
2,456
Reaction score
1,749
Location
New Orleans, LA, USA
As far as I know, only the MHz number needs to match. They can call the bands 1,2,3,4 or a,b,c,d, or dog, chicken, cow, horse if they want. They are just grouped in bands to make it easier to go through them, and set with dip switches. 5740MHz is 5740MHz no matter what.
 

PhoenixFord

Well-Known Member
Joined
Dec 5, 2016
Messages
216
Reaction score
57
Age
57
Location
Cabot, AR.
As far as I know, only the MHz number needs to match. They can call the bands 1,2,3,4 or a,b,c,d, or dog, chicken, cow, horse if they want. They are just grouped in bands to make it easier to go through them, and set with dip switches. 5740MHz is 5740MHz no matter what.

OK. Good news. I watched a video implying that all the channels were within the the 5.8 freg range. Just wasn't sure how the "Band" came into play.

Thanks again.
 

theGreenOrange

Well-Known Member
Joined
Oct 18, 2016
Messages
2,456
Reaction score
1,749
Location
New Orleans, LA, USA
OK. Good news. I watched a video implying that all the channels were within the the 5.8 freg range. Just wasn't sure how the "Band" came into play.

Thanks again.

What I do is look at the 5.8Ghz networks nearby with an app called Wi-Fi Analyzer on my phone. This let's me know where there is an uncrowded frequency and gives the max and min that Wi-Fi uses, so I can avoid that range.
 

PhoenixFord

Well-Known Member
Joined
Dec 5, 2016
Messages
216
Reaction score
57
Age
57
Location
Cabot, AR.
What I do is look at the 5.8Ghz networks nearby with an app called Wi-Fi Analyzer on my phone. This let's me know where there is an uncrowded frequency and gives the max and min that Wi-Fi uses, so I can avoid that range.

Yea, I'm probably not going to have that problem for a while. Wish I did though. I usually fly at local parks and school yards when nobody is around. I practice stick controls a lot just in the front yard of my "hood". My work prevents me from having a lot of free time to associate with fellow fliers near by. I would like to join a local club. But it's just not in the cards for me right now. I have to rely on good people like you for mentoring.

Thanks Once Again the GreenOrange.
 

PhoenixFord

Well-Known Member
Joined
Dec 5, 2016
Messages
216
Reaction score
57
Age
57
Location
Cabot, AR.
I dont have anyone flying over here either it's the Wi-Fi from the neighbors' home internet and baby monitors I am dodging.

Ok, didn't think of that one. Guess Ill be installing that APP after all. Thanks Again.
 

Latest threads

Members online

Forum statistics

Threads
3,522
Messages
30,038
Members
2,962
Latest member
servas007