Welcome to FPVDronePilots!
Join our free FPV drone community today!

Smoke stopper blows with 6s battery

Arty

Reaction score
Hello everybody!
I am new to FPV and am building my first drone.

I ordered and assembled this setup:

- T-motor F60 1750Kv
- Succex-D MINI F7 Twing + 60A Stack
- DJI air unit
- crossfire nano RX with crossfire immortal T antenna V2
- Vifly finder 2 Buzzer
- smoke stopper with 2A fuse

I also bought 2 batteries: 4s 1500mAh and 6s 1100mAh
When I connect the 4s battery everything seems to be normal ( I could test the motors with beta flight)
The problem is that the fuse (2A) of my smoke stopper blows when I connect the 6s battery.
Normally the FC is supposed to work with both batteries and has a voltage regulator for DJI so there shouldn't be any problems. Am I missing something?

Thank you

battery 6s problem.jpg

A smokestopper is really just for that first plug in, you can also check continuity between the battery leads for a short. If you have already tested with 4s and all is good then the 6s should be fine too. What is the fuse rated for (volts and amps)?

The original one was from getfpv then I got similar ones from here

It is a 2 amps fuse, they don't mention the voltage rating though, but personally I don't think this is the problem.

I guess I will try to connect without the smoke stopper. Hopefully won't burn anything...

Reactions: Jtrjr and Wayno52
It is an automotive fuse, so it is meant for 12v systems, a fully charged 6s is 25.2v, I think that is the problem. Also, when you run a 6s rated quad on 6s, you are running it to 100% of capability, and that often means things could blow or won't last long, think of it like running your car at full throttle all the time. If it works on 4s, it works, that is still no guarantee that something won't blow on 6s, but you have done your due diligence at least.

Reactions: Arty and Jtrjr