Welcome to FPVDronePilots!
Join our free FPV drone community today!

Problem: Mobula7 not binding to radio, Taranis QX7

Kugelblitz

Reaction score
I recently bought a Happymodel Mobula7 from banggood. It's "bind and fly" however, out of the box It struggled with the whole binding part. I have a taranis QX7 for a radio. I'm fairly new to the hobby so I was wondering if anyone here had some advice.

Everything else seems to work fine I'm even able to power up the motors in betaflight. When you plug in the drone LEDs (2 red and 2 white) start flashing. When I push the bind button they start flashing faster. I've tried every combination of putting the drone and my radio in binding mode, even using the binding code in betaflight "bind_rx_spi" to which betaflight responds "binding..." and the LEDs start flashing again. The radio keeps beeping and the drone keeps flashing until I get fed up and no combination of turning them off and then back on again seems to work.

The instructions say to set the receiver binding mode to AFHDS-2A or AFHDS to correspond with the setting on the radio.
I found that setting in betaflight for the drone (even experimenting with other modes) but I can't find any setting like this on my taranis QX7. It only shows D16, D8, LR12. (I think those go together but I don't understand that much about TX protocols.)

I downloaded betaflight 10.4.0 because that's the version the instructions say to use. It also seams like my modula7 is slightly different from some of the ones in YouTube binding tutorials. There's starts out with solid LEDs that start flashing after holding the bind button for 2 seconds. Mine starts out with flashing LEDs that start flashing faster instantly after pressing the bind button. That jives with my instructions but I'm still not getting it to bind.

Is there a setting on the radio model set up that I could be missing or could it be something else?