Welcome to DroneRacingPilots!
Join our free drone racing community today!
Sign up

OSD

Sambo1988

Well-Known Member
Joined
Dec 29, 2017
Messages
102
Likes
46
Age
29
#1
HI All

I’m wanting to set up the beta flight OSD on my quad I go through the configuration in the osd tab the way I want it but when I reboot it won’t show up on the screen within the goggles any ideas

Thanks

Sam.
 

RENOV8R

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 29, 2018
Messages
224
Likes
256
Age
58
#2
What flight controller are you using? Do you have your video signal from your camera going directly to your vtx or is going through the flight controller?
 
Likes: Wayno52

Sambo1988

Well-Known Member
Joined
Dec 29, 2017
Messages
102
Likes
46
Age
29
#5
Hi thanks for the help you have been more than helpful I had a feeling it may be an older chip and that to get the osd working I may have to connect a separate module. Just wanted to check with you guys on hear with more experience I haven’t been flying for long

Thanks

Sam
 

RENOV8R

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 29, 2018
Messages
224
Likes
256
Age
58
#6
That separate module is an FTDI tool. It's just used to connect Arduino (multiwii) based components like the OSD to your computer for programming. Once you're done setting up your OSD, you just disconnect it and throw it in a drawer somewhere (and if you're like me, spend 5 hours looking for it the next time you need it haha). My suggestion? Upgrade your flight controller to a new one with Betaflight OSD, it's so easy to set up and full of cool features
 

RENOV8R

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 29, 2018
Messages
224
Likes
256
Age
58
#10
Really depends on which receiver you are using. As long as it's PPM or preferably sBus capable, shouldn't be a problem.
 

Sambo1988

Well-Known Member
Joined
Dec 29, 2017
Messages
102
Likes
46
Age
29
#11
Yes I have a sbus receiver I’m using a radio link at9 transmitter. I think most of the components are still current BLHelis 20amp esc, Storm racing FX799t vtx run cam swift storm racing motors ect. It took some getting up to date, when I brought it second hand it hadn’t been configured with beta flight so being a beginner I had to get straight into it with I don’t think was a bad thing as I had to learn and reaserch quick
 

Sambo1988

Well-Known Member
Joined
Dec 29, 2017
Messages
102
Likes
46
Age
29
#13
I have the r6ds was looking to get that one. Every bit of weight saved in a 130 quad helps I really like the radiolink transmitter too it didn’t have to many features does what it needs to
 

Latest threads

Members online

No members online now.

Forum statistics

Threads
1,944
Messages
18,429
Members
1,646
Latest member
genuine111