Welcome to FPVDronePilots!
Join our free FPV drone community today!

Newbie here buying my first FPV drone...am I missing anything?

blurred55

Reaction score
Thoughts on this setup for a first FPV drone? Anything you guys would change/swap?

B7XGDRq.png

The drone it pre-built and tested, here are the specs:

NQK8yIZ.png

I'm just unsure of how the FPV goggles pair and if I'm missing a component

Last edited:
Nevermind -- sorry for the dumb goggles question. I figured out I am not missing anything for the goggles to work with the drone

Is there anything you guys would recommend changing with this setup or swapping any parts?

I am fairly new too (a few months), but I think you are spending too much on the quad if it is your first. I like the Emax Hawk 5 for half the price and that was more than I could handle as brand new pilot. You are going to crash a lot. Motors bend, ESC's go burn out, battery leads get ripped off PDB (all 3 have happened to me). You will break it, so I'd take two Hawk 5's for the same price in order have a backup. I also like my Taranis X9D I think was priced less than what you spec'd. Get another 5 sets of props and 10 battery straps. Maybe get a couple Kevlar straps. I also like for $5, FPV Freerider simulator - best I have tried so far.

Edit - Hawk 5 may not be best choice as I think their AIO stack may be discontinued. Make sure you can buy parts to support what you break. I had to buy another mfg's 4in1 ESC and do some soldering as the Emax ESC was not in stock a month ago anywhere in the free world.

Last edited:
Hi blurred, have you flown drones at all before? That is a huge outlay for something you may not be ready for otherwise. You can start off a lot cheaper and like js said, get a sim first.
I would not personally go the hawk 5 for my first. Let us know your experience.
Wayne