Welcome to DroneRacingPilots!
Join our free drone racing community today!
Sign up

Need Help with Receiver, VTX, and Camera

TonyTheDronie

New Member
Joined
Dec 4, 2019
Messages
4
Reaction score
3
Age
48
Hello. I have run into the problem binding my Spektrum receiver (SPM4649T is the model). I have bound to it directly through the CLI in Betaflight. The problem is, whenever I unplug the cable connecting my quad to my computer and plug in a battery instead, it refuses to find my controller.
Usually, when my quad is hooked up to my computer, the solid orange light turns on my receiver whenever I turn on my controller indicating that it already has been bound. But when only a battery is connected to the drone, the light on the receiver does not turn on whatsoever.
I used from this guide (How to Bind Spektrum Satellite Receivers on BetaFlight for Beginners) to bind through the CLI. Could this be a problem with my battery? Something with Betaflight? I have no idea. If someone could give me some insight on this it would be much appreciated.

Another problem I have is that when I check all the frequencies on my goggles, I cannot find any video frequency at all. Could this also be a problem with power delivery? Or something else?

If anyone would like to see the dump file below, then it is there.

My setup is the Kakute F7 FC, the Atlatl HV V2 VTX, the Spektrum Receiver (SPM4649T), and lastly a Runcam Racer 2 camera.
Lastly, the links are below to the manuals to the electronics (FC, VTX, RX, Camera):

Kakute F7: http://www.holybro.com/manual/Holybro_Ka...Manual.pdf
Runcam Racer 2: https://www.runcam.com/download/Racer2-Manual.pdf
Atlatl HV V2 VTX: http://www.holybro.com/manual/Holybro-At...Manual.pdf
Spektrum Receiver: https://www.spektrumrc.com/ProdInfo/File...ual-EN.pdf
 

Attachments

  • Like
Reactions: Wayno52

rtkDarling

Well-Known Member
Joined
Nov 1, 2018
Messages
719
Reaction score
1,091
Age
38
Welcome to the forum

When it's plugged in to USB are you getting inputs from the controller?

My first guess is that this is a physical issue as opposed to a software issue.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Wayno52

rtkDarling

Well-Known Member
Joined
Nov 1, 2018
Messages
719
Reaction score
1,091
Age
38
That means it's likely a hardware issue because nothing changes on the software end between USB and battery.

I can only guess with the amount of information we have, but it sounds like the 5 volt regulator is being overwhelmed. If you have the VTX going through the FC's 5 volt out, that could do it. The RX is powered off the FC, the VTX is powered straight from Vbat, and then the camera can get power from the VTX.

Did you wire this yourself?
 
  • Like
Reactions: Wayno52

TonyTheDronie

New Member
Joined
Dec 4, 2019
Messages
4
Reaction score
3
Age
48
The VTX is wired through the FC's Bat+. The rest is powered via 5V on the board (VTX and Camera). Any idea on what I should do know?
And yes I did wire this myself. I'm building a drone for the first time.
Thanks.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Wayno52

rtkDarling

Well-Known Member
Joined
Nov 1, 2018
Messages
719
Reaction score
1,091
Age
38
Try powering the camera off the VTX instead of the FC. You can also plug in a battery and see if you're getting any output on your 5v pads, you may have just got a bad 5v regulator on your board. If you're positive your VTX is powered through vbat, and it's not coming up at all (no lights) then there's something to track down there as well.

Can you take some pictures of your solder points?
 
  • Like
Reactions: Wayno52

TonyTheDronie

New Member
Joined
Dec 4, 2019
Messages
4
Reaction score
3
Age
48
Right now I cannot but I can tell where I wired everything.
I wired my Spektrum Receiver with the Serial/Bnd wire going to T6 (UART 6), my GND wire going to ground, and my 4V-8.4V going to a 5V on my board. My camera is as follows: the GND wire going to ground, the 5V-36V going to another 5V on the board, the Video, going to Video In on the board, I did not connect the VBAT+, the G/TX wire going to a R3 (Receiver UART 3), and the G/RX going to the T3 for (Transmitting UART 3). Lastly my VTX I connected like so: The B+ wire going to the B+ on the board, the G wire going to ground, the VI wire I wired to the VO on the board for video out, and lastly, the T wire going to T4 (For UART port 4).

Also, whenever I try to configure my ports in Betaflight and save and reboot, it resets them to their original positions.
 

Latest threads

Members online

Forum statistics

Threads
3,352
Messages
28,965
Members
2,876
Latest member
stoem