Welcome to DroneRacingPilots!
Join our free drone racing community today!
Sign up

NAZE32 Motor 3 Problem

Ustaach

Member
Joined
Mar 17, 2020
Messages
6
Reaction score
0
Age
34
I have Flashed Afroflight 32 With CleanFlight Firmware.
Firmware - NAZE32 Ver- 2.2.0
Cleanflight - 2.4.0
So everything seems to be fine except that Motor 3 Is always at its base speed ie Channel 3 Of Naze32 Board, When I try to Override all the motors with Motor Calib Section then it works very well no problem what so ever but after arming and Flying motor 3 is always very low.
 

Attachments

HighTechPauper

Well-Known Member
Joined
Feb 5, 2017
Messages
2,002
Reaction score
2,223
Location
The Chesapeake Bay
If the board is in a self leveling mode, and the #3 motor position is higher than the accelerometer THINKS is level, then it will automatically reduce #3 motor speed trying to get the quad to level out. Have you tried (without props on) moving/tilting the quad so that motor 3 is lower than the others?
 
  • Like
Reactions: tevek and Wayno52

Ustaach

Member
Joined
Mar 17, 2020
Messages
6
Reaction score
0
Age
34
If the board is in a self leveling mode, and the #3 motor position is higher than the accelerometer THINKS is level, then it will automatically reduce #3 motor speed trying to get the quad to level out. Have you tried (without props on) moving/tilting the quad so that motor 3 is lower than the others?
Yes, I have tried by removing the propeller and moving the quad by hands, So the flight controller tends to rev. up the Motor 3 to some levels, Which are around 1270 or so..
I did another test by increasing the throttle to max without props which spins the motors to about 1850 but the third motor try to manage around 1410 or so.
I haven't used any leveling or horizon control or anything. Just stock system.
When I change the configuration of of Quad to X or X1234 then motor 1 tends to show same behaviour .
 

Attachments

gordman

Member
Joined
Nov 23, 2019
Messages
6
Reaction score
4
Age
62
Have you used BLHELISUITE to calibrate your esc’s , I had same problem and this fixed mine .
 

Ustaach

Member
Joined
Mar 17, 2020
Messages
6
Reaction score
0
Age
34
My Configuration are
EMAX - MT3515
EMAX - 30A ESC
PROP - 13X4.7
BATTERY - RUNNING OVER WIRES
RECIEVER -FLY SKLY CT6B
 

gordman

Member
Joined
Nov 23, 2019
Messages
6
Reaction score
4
Age
62
First of all don't get discouraged , there's a lot involved in building these , a glitch can be the most frustrating thing . Your building quite a beast it looks like in your video and hopefully your not testing it like you show in the video . Your going to have to clean up and tie up your wires and get some lite weight stand offs because all of that stuff throws off the accelerometer , not to mention ground affects lifting off . I also see way to much inconsistent's in all your motor readings RPM's . there's usually only a couple RPM , maybe on one motor when you calibrate on BLHeli , it's surprisingly close normally. And I probably should of told you to use BLHeli configurator on chrome , it's strait up basic calibrate and done plus there's a couple good video's how to use it fast short and to the point . It could also be in the cli commands which there's Josh Bardwell the guru programmer that knows these inside out . Hopefully some other members can contribute also . don't give up the ship ! When I finally got mine flying , it's quite rewarding and fun , mine is rocket fast :)
 

Ustaach

Member
Joined
Mar 17, 2020
Messages
6
Reaction score
0
Age
34
First of all don't get discouraged , there's a lot involved in building these , a glitch can be the most frustrating thing . Your building quite a beast it looks like in your video and hopefully your not testing it like you show in the video . Your going to have to clean up and tie up your wires and get some lite weight stand offs because all of that stuff throws off the accelerometer , not to mention ground affects lifting off . I also see way to much inconsistent's in all your motor readings RPM's . there's usually only a couple RPM , maybe on one motor when you calibrate on BLHeli , it's surprisingly close normally. And I probably should of told you to use BLHeli configurator on chrome , it's strait up basic calibrate and done plus there's a couple good video's how to use it fast short and to the point . It could also be in the cli commands which there's Josh Bardwell the guru programmer that knows these inside out . Hopefully some other members can contribute also . don't give up the ship ! When I finally got mine flying , it's quite rewarding and fun , mine is rocket fast :)
Thank you for your support and giving out such a great expressive tour of what to take note for.
So I have used blheli_S Suite and re-flashed the EMAX30A with the Current firmware and re calibrated every ESC and Rewired it again to make everything clean and tidy as stated by you.
So I am giving out a video of the progress made in this time period.

NOTES-
-If I place the FC out of the Quad nothing is changing there is a lot of variation in the motor speed specially Motor 3
-After Full throttle Motor 3 is still at 1430 .
- Motor Speed varies if FC is made to rotate by hands. But Issue is with Motor 3.
-Right Now the New Configs are
-FC Is running Cleanflight 2.2.0
-Cleanflight Client is 2.4.0
-EMAX Firmware version -14.9
-Power Rail- 12.00V
 

Attachments

gordman

Member
Joined
Nov 23, 2019
Messages
6
Reaction score
4
Age
62
I would be leaning toward the esc or the motor on the number 3 motor , either slightly burned windings on motor or a fet on the esc . I don't know how to test either but you can U-tube or see if Oscar Liang has some articles on testing . I had a build kit with cheap components with what I thought was a bad motor , got a new upgraded set of motors , only to burn one of those out to find out it was a bad esc . so yup one more of the new motors and 4 brand new 35 amp esc's and I was good . Yours seem to be better quality motors not sure of the esc's , but if you can do both on #3, also # 1 motor still is far off RPM too. See the other 2 they should all be that close. Testing definitely cheaper. Oh so you know , running motors to much without blades get motors hot really fast (not good , can burn windings )
 

Ustaach

Member
Joined
Mar 17, 2020
Messages
6
Reaction score
0
Age
34
I would be leaning toward the esc or the motor on the number 3 motor , either slightly burned windings on motor or a fet on the esc . I don't know how to test either but you can U-tube or see if Oscar Liang has some articles on testing . I had a build kit with cheap components with what I thought was a bad motor , got a new upgraded set of motors , only to burn one of those out to find out it was a bad esc . so yup one more of the new motors and 4 brand new 35 amp esc's and I was good . Yours seem to be better quality motors not sure of the esc's , but if you can do both on #3, also # 1 motor still is far off RPM too. See the other 2 they should all be that close. Testing definitely cheaper. Oh so you know , running motors to much without blades get motors hot really fast (not good , can burn windings )
I have Swapped Motor 3 Cable with other Motor 1 Connector and it founds out that Channel 3 Of the FC isnt giving out proper Signal as motor 1 that is been swapped with Motor 3 Is also working as same, Now to know that Channel 3 isn't burnt I paced the FC in Motor Override mode by Switching the Master control Know placed in the GUI to run all the motors using Slide bar which in turn Rotates the motors at their full speed.So everything seems fine-
- Signal from the FC during Override
- ESC are fine as I ran them individually
- Motors are fine-tested it individually
 

Latest threads

Members online

Forum statistics

Threads
3,081
Messages
26,594
Members
2,617
Latest member
gwaldo