Welcome to Drone Racing!

Sign up and join the fastest growing drone racing forum!

Leds on rx switch using a lemon satellite rx?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by baevans11, Sep 23, 2017.

  1. baevans11

    baevans11 Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2017
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    39
    Say I wanted to put leds on my quad but I wanted them on a switch. The only problem I think is I'm using a sat rx. So could I use the turnigy switch controller with the lemon sat rx? Or would I just have to have the leds on all the time?
     
  2. VirtueViolater

    VirtueViolater Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2016
    Messages:
    1,117
    Likes Received:
    833
    Location:
    Mobile Alabama
    I'm confused, are you using spektrum or turnigy transmitter?
     
  3. baevans11

    baevans11 Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2017
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    39
  4. VirtueViolater

    VirtueViolater Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2016
    Messages:
    1,117
    Likes Received:
    833
    Location:
    Mobile Alabama
    I'm not familiar with that switch, it would have to use dsm/dsmx to work with your receiver i think, Green may know...
     
  5. VirtueViolater

    VirtueViolater Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2016
    Messages:
    1,117
    Likes Received:
    833
    Location:
    Mobile Alabama
    What ya do is go into betaflight and activate leds, and use a uart to power them i think
     
    baevans11 likes this.
  6. baevans11

    baevans11 Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2017
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    39
    Oh ok thx I appreciate the help. One more question. Would say 4 bars containing 4 leds each, one on each arm really pull much power from the battery essentially draining it faster?
     
  7. VirtueViolater

    VirtueViolater Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2016
    Messages:
    1,117
    Likes Received:
    833
    Location:
    Mobile Alabama
    Leds do not draw much but do add load to your lipo
     
  8. baevans11

    baevans11 Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2017
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    39
    So am I correct in thinking that means they won't take away much flight time but the will inhibit how much punch your quad has. Thx for your help.
     
  9. VirtueViolater

    VirtueViolater Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2016
    Messages:
    1,117
    Likes Received:
    833
    Location:
    Mobile Alabama
    It wont change its power, just runtime a little
     
    Keifie and baevans11 like this.