Welcome to DroneRacingPilots!
Join our free drone racing community today!
Sign up

How to connect Fatshark Dom V3 to a Macbook Pro and use simulator?

doberman

Active Member
Joined
Jan 13, 2017
Messages
36
Reaction score
0
Location
Pembroke Pines, FL
Hello all.

Just got my Fatshark Dom V3s. I want to connect to my Mac so I can practice flying before I actually fly the real deal.

What cables do I need? The cable and the adaptor came with the FS did not work? What am I missing?

Also, once I get it up and running, what app is the best to learn and practice FPV drones?

Thank you
 

theGreenOrange

Well-Known Member
Joined
Oct 18, 2016
Messages
2,457
Reaction score
1,739
Location
New Orleans, LA, USA
After plugging in HDMI, did you press the brightness/contrast button until it was in HDMI mode? You may also need to tell your video card to turn on HDMI out.
 

pixelPilot

Well-Known Member
Joined
Dec 18, 2016
Messages
73
Reaction score
23
Age
42
Fpv freerider is up there with the best simulators...youtube has some good videos of other offerings as well. Just punch in best fpv simulators or some such thing. Cheers
 

MattP1540

New Member
Joined
Jun 3, 2018
Messages
2
Reaction score
1
Age
42
Just went through this process -here's how I got it to work on a 2012 13" Macbook Pro running High Sierra, version 10.13.4

1. On the Macbook:
a. Go to "Preferences"
b. Select "Displays"
c. Select "Scaled"
d. Select "Larger Text" (looks like 1024 x 640)
2. Set the power switch on the goggles to off ("0" instead of "1")
3. Insure the battery is disconnected
4. Connect Macbook to goggles with HDMI to mini HDMI cable.
5. Plug in the battery. The Macbook should automatically detect the goggle display. If necessary, you can get the option to "Detect Displays" by clicking "Scaled" and then holding the option key. Insure the picture on your Macbook is set to mirror displays.
6. Select HDMI 2D on the goggles.
Then you can just adjust brightness, channels, etc for the best picture.
 
Last edited:
  • Like
Reactions: VirtueViolater

mavemills

New Member
Joined
Jun 21, 2018
Messages
3
Reaction score
0
Age
51
Just went through this process -here's how I got it to work on a 2012 13" Macbook Pro running High Sierra, version 10.13.4

MattP1540 - I also have a 2012 13" Macbook Pro running High Sierra, version 10.13.4 so it's good to see this is possible! Thing is, what cable did you use to connect the googles to the Mac? The HDMI cable and adaptors which came with my DOM V3's don't have a plug which fits my Mac!

Cheers
 

mavemills

New Member
Joined
Jun 21, 2018
Messages
3
Reaction score
0
Age
51

Latest threads

Members online

No members online now.

Forum statistics

Threads
2,707
Messages
23,751
Members
2,293
Latest member
G36C