Welcome to FPVDronePilots!
Join our free FPV drone community today!

Hello from Vermont, USA

LedChicken

Reaction score
Hi guys (and gals?)! Newbie here. My name is Tony. I bought a Cheerson cx-33 about 6 months or so ago, because I had been thinking "drones" looked like fun, and it was a closeout at a grocery store of all places for $23. I'm an old guy, and had wanted to get into R/C flying of some kind for ages, but was always told it's not something you want to get into by yourself, without access to some kind of mentor, or you'd just end up frustrated and a whole lot poorer. Anyway, after I picked up the Cheerson I got the bug and ended up with a handful of nano quads, before finding out about a local club thad has tiny whoop races once a month. While there for the first time to check it out, I bought an Eachine e011 which eventually turned into my first whoop class quad. I've stayed concentrated on whoops so far and have progressed through a TWR kit to building my own whoops using tuneable FCs and OSD cams. I own a 5" quad, which I bought used and is nothing special so far, but I've done little with it other than test hover it. I figured I'd get good, or at least decent with the whoops and on simulators first, and then dive into the larger quads. I am planning ( hoping to get brave enough) to take the 5 incher out for at least one real flight before the weather around here turns too crappy, and then if I crash it I'll have the winter to rebuild and upgrade. Any other mostly whoop racers here, or are all of you "real" quad pilots?

Sorry for the long intro. I figured I'd put it out here for those who are inclined to read it. TL;DR: Hi, I'm Tony and so far fly and race mainly whoop class, but am interested in also moving into the 5" world.

Hey Tony, fantastic intro mate. 57 ain't old buddy, it can't be I'm not that far off.
So it looks like you are already an addict to fpv so of course you need a 5 inch.
And a 4
And a 3
Maybe even a 6.