Welcome to FPVDronePilots!
Join our free FPV drone community today!

Hello from Vancouver, Canada

Chris G

Reaction score
Hello all,
I'm relatively new to Drone racing, but my history comes from 1/10 RC Electric and Gas buggies, My son and I enjoyed these for many years. My son has since advanced to RC Sailboats, currently working on a foiling AC72 replica. I first saw these quadcopters on the web, and fell in lust.
About 1.5 years ago, I purchased a CF iFlight Xbird 250 kit, and a nice new DX6 radio, assembled it with intent to crash, and I excelled at it, for a while. I've named my first 250 racer "Spike"
20+ props, 1 motor, and more than 50 flights later, my skills are now very capable, in acro mode.
No I haven't done any inversions (on purpose), or crazy stunts.
I don't yet have FPV gear, but am eying the 3D camera models with some good quality goggles.

As I have peaked my LoS skills, I plan to jump into the FPV, to get more immersed. And learn new skills.

Spike was built to crash, and he has, during a flight in the woods, I was able to penetrate a nearby dead tree, with my front left CF Arm with motor now gone, about 2 inches deep. Hence the name Spike.

Specs:
250mm Quadcopter - iFlight XBIRD 250 Carbon Fibre Quad
Motors - MultiMate MT1806 x5 ( one spare, always)
ESC's - 20amp ESC Brand?
FC - CC3D
Props - Genfam 5030x3's and mostly 5030x2, I have lots of these, black for the rear, any colour for the front.
FPV Camera - NA, pending
Trans - Spektrum DX6 SPM6700
Receiver - AR610 6 channel DSMX receiver
Optional Payload - Contour HD1080p Camera
Min/Max Weight - 480g/670g, Quad w/o Landing gear, Camera & 1300ma /Quad with Gear & Cam & 1800ma
batteries - 2x Gravity 30c 3s 1300ma & 2x Wild Scorpion 30c 3s 1800ma
Mods- Bicycle spoke landing gear, Contour Camera mount zap strapped to frame, blinking Motion activated LED for finding after crash. 20160314_195521483_iOS.jpg

Last edited:
Reactions: Brandon