Welcome to FPVDronePilots!
Join our free FPV drone community today!

Flying for awhile now, what fpv racer should i get?

rawdawg85

Reaction score
Hey guys ive been flying for a couple years now, mostly phantoms and higher end toy copters and quad copters. Ive been watching all the cool things and just raw power these little racers have. I wanna get like a 250 frame size, other than that I want to be able to do those long loops barrel rolls flips and just general crazy flying. I want it to have ample power, so I don't have to upgrade later. Can anyone point me in the right direction for a kit I can buy and assemble? What are your guys favs? What are you guys flying? Any help at all would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance RawDawg85.

I really like Catalyst MachineWorks Speed Addict frames. It comes in 180-R(4 inch), 210-R(5 inch), 250-R(6 inch) and now an ultralight. I fly the 210-R and you can get with 3mm or 4mm main frame plate, the 4mm is very durable. My setup has hit the ground and race gates numerous times with 99% of the time only need to replace props, twice I had to press a motor back together with the 2nd time only because I forgot to re-tighten the grub screw holding the motor shaft in the motor bell.
As for electronics, there are so many options it's tough to suggest any one setup.

My setup:
-Speed Addict 210-R
-RunCam Swift camera
-RMRC Cricket 200mw vtx
-VAS Dura-Spec antenna
-Littlebee 20a escs
-MRM Mini Titan 2204-2300kv motors
-Dragonfly32 compact flight control board running Betaflight
-Lynx 5 inch props
-Pulse 3s 1800mah 75c (soon 4s 1800mah 75c)

This setup has good power but 2205/2206 motors provide more torque, great for getting out of tight spots (or get into) perform acrobatics

Last edited:
Reactions: rawdawg85