Welcome to DroneRacingPilots!
Join our free drone racing community today!

DJI FPV System

Aan’aillen

Reaction score
Hey everyone, I am relatively new to drone building, but am really exited to get my new drone put together. I was gifted the DJI FPV system for my birthday, and need some help choosing the rest of the parts. Do you guys have any suggestions?

I have looked (a little) for frame options, and here is what I’ve come up with, does this work well:

Any and all help would be very appreciated

HighTechPauper

Reaction score
They are making some frames now designed for the DJI Air Unit from 3 inches and bigger, I would look at one of those to make the build a little easier. There are also a number of Flight Controllers now that are plug and play with the DJI unit which also makes things a good bit easier. If this is going to be your first quad, I would look for an FC and ESC that will plug and play with the DJI, and then see where your budget is before picking motors. If you need a little more help, just let us know what your budget is and we can suggest some specific parts.

rtkDarling

Reaction score
That's a "cool" frame, but it's going to be a pain for a first build. It's just far more complex than it needs to be, and that's going to limit how flexible it is for you. (Plus it's overpriced IMHO) You might consider a frame built for the Air unit, partially because it's an odd shape and a lot of frames aren't going to accept it easily, and also because a frame designed for the DJI system might be geared to keep your props out of your HD feed (you're going to have a LOT of prop in frame with that remix)

These "Deadcat" style frames are going to be a little more delicate though, those front arms coming off at almost 90 degrees probably aren't gonna take a hard hit.

rtkDarling

Reaction score
Plus the camera is extra exposed to hits with a deadcat