Welcome to DroneRacingPilots!
Join our free drone racing community today!
Sign up

Difficulty arming 1st quadcopter build

BTLABS

Member
Joined
Feb 22, 2017
Messages
8
Reaction score
0
Location
San Clemente, CA
Using Flysky's AFHDS 2A protocol with older Flysky FS-i6 and new Flysky X6B i-Bus, PPM, PWM receiver set up for PPM. Receiver bound. The receiver controls are operational under Betaflight 3.0.1. Escs are calibrated. Channel 5 is mapped to AUX 1 for arming. Under Betaflight, I can see switching of arm, however, the quadcopter does not arm when I switch AUX 1 on transmitter (mapped to CH5). I am thinking that I have an issue with throttle settings.

Betaflight settings: Min Throttle 1042 (10 above esc calibration where all motors spun). Max Throttle command is 2000 and min throttle command is 1000. I have a throttle width of 1000. Is this too much for transmitter?

CPU load appears to be OK.Using Naze 32 Rev 5 controller with Gyro Update at 2 kHz and PID loop at 1kHz. With accelerometer on,CPU load is 24%.

Symptoms: with battery attached, all 4 motor twitch very slowly regardless of throttle settings and arm switch. I need help debugging arming and twitching motors.

Thanks for help
 

TraumaChaser

Well-Known Member
Joined
Oct 10, 2016
Messages
277
Reaction score
156
Age
38
Not sure about flysky but I'm assuming you still have to set up your aux channel in the tx if you haven't already. Next check your solder connections. Also did you build this yourself? Your Fc might be mounted to tight you might have to soft mount it. Check for solder beads on the boards.
 

theGreenOrange

Well-Known Member
Joined
Oct 18, 2016
Messages
2,456
Reaction score
1,749
Location
New Orleans, LA, USA
Did you try arming with the default stick command? Un-program the arm switch, see if it will arm with stick command: zero throttle, yaw right for 2 seconds.
 

PhoenixFord

Well-Known Member
Joined
Dec 5, 2016
Messages
216
Reaction score
57
Age
57
Location
Cabot, AR.
In Raceflight (using a switch for ARM), you have to flip the switch 2 times within a reasonable amount of time to get the logic to accept the command.
 

BTLABS

Member
Joined
Feb 22, 2017
Messages
8
Reaction score
0
Location
San Clemente, CA
Not sure about flysky but I'm assuming you still have to set up your aux channel in the tx if you haven't already. Next check your solder connections. Also did you build this yourself? Your Fc might be mounted to tight you might have to soft mount it. Check for solder beads on the boards.
Thank you. Will recheck solder connections.I direct soldered allco
 

BTLABS

Member
Joined
Feb 22, 2017
Messages
8
Reaction score
0
Location
San Clemente, CA
Not sure about flysky but I'm assuming you still have to set up your aux channel in the tx if you haven't already. Next check your solder connections. Also did you build this yourself? Your Fc might be mounted to tight you might have to soft mount it. Check for solder beads on the boards.
Using Flysky's AFHDS 2A protocol with older Flysky FS-i6 and new Flysky X6B i-Bus, PPM, PWM receiver set up for PPM. Receiver bound. The receiver controls are operational under Betaflight 3.0.1. Escs are calibrated. Channel 5 is mapped to AUX 1 for arming. Under Betaflight, I can see switching of arm, however, the quadcopter does not arm when I switch AUX 1 on transmitter (mapped to CH5). I am thinking that I have an issue with throttle settings.

Betaflight settings: Min Throttle 1042 (10 above esc calibration where all motors spun). Max Throttle command is 2000 and min throttle command is 1000. I have a throttle width of 1000. Is this too much for transmitter?

CPU load appears to be OK.Using Naze 32 Rev 5 controller with Gyro Update at 2 kHz and PID loop at 1kHz. With accelerometer on,CPU load is 24%.

Symptoms: with battery attached, all 4 motor twitch very slowly regardless of throttle settings and arm switch. I need help debugging arming and twitching motors.

Thanks for help
Will check solder connections again with meter. Everything is direct wired to save space and reduce possibility of disconnection. I will try soft mounting with o-rings. I assume you are referring to motors twitching.
 

PhoenixFord

Well-Known Member
Joined
Dec 5, 2016
Messages
216
Reaction score
57
Age
57
Location
Cabot, AR.
The receiver controls are operational under Betaflight 3.0.1. Escs are calibrated.
Thanks for help
Will the individual motors spin-up using the software?
 

BTLABS

Member
Joined
Feb 22, 2017
Messages
8
Reaction score
0
Location
San Clemente, CA
BT,

Just for the heck of it, make sure the "minimum command" is a number below the number that is set for "minimum throttle" in Betaflight.

Jerry
Jerry,

This might be my problem. I will check this. I have been reviewing Josh Bardwell videos on this issue and think this may be my problem. Also, I have noticed that others using Flysky have reduce the resolution of the sticks from 1000 (2000-1000) to 800 (1900-1100). I am not sure why this was done unless the endpoints on transmitters are not a full 1024 spacing.

Thank you,

John
 

PhoenixFord

Well-Known Member
Joined
Dec 5, 2016
Messages
216
Reaction score
57
Age
57
Location
Cabot, AR.
Yes. Motors spin up fine in Betaflight. I calibrated escs.
Suggest overwriting your current model set-up in the transmitter. Set to "New Model" and start over again. ???
 

Latest threads

Members online

No members online now.

Forum statistics

Threads
3,454
Messages
29,617
Members
2,925
Latest member
presse55