Welcome to FPVDronePilots!
Join our free FPV drone community today!

Battery issues....

Todd H.

Reaction score
Ok, so I am new to racing drones. I have been flying about a month and half. Which may sound long but I only get to fly really on the weekends. Wo with me learning and repairing the time in the air is significantly diminished. LOL...

So I bought 5 Floureon 4S 14.8V 1300 mAh 40C with a XT60 plug. Problem I am having is that I have had four out of the five end up dropping a cell. So granted these things have hit the ground a few times and likely are taking damage but the external package doesn't show it.

First battery died after a crash. I really don't know if the failure happened and then the crash happened or if the crash happened and caused the failure. The last two batteries however I am positive that I was flying in mid flight and then lost power and started to fall. I went to full throttle both times and was able to land without issues both times but upon further review I found that I had lost a cell.

So how do I know? I use a battery checker on my drone currently as a sounder for low battery and when I checked the battery when I picked it up nothing was registering on the screen. I then plugged the battery in as if it was a 3S and got power.

So my question is are these batteries just crap or am I possibly doing something wrong? If I was to guess I might have gotten say 30-40 flights out of these batteries at the most. Is this common?

Thanks for the help.

Todd Hensley

Reactions: HighTechPauper
You need batterys with a higher "c" rating, the 40 c paks you have now are useless for race drones. You need 75 c minimum

Reactions: Jtrjr
Hi Todd,