Welcome to FPVDronePilots!
Join our free FPV drone community today!

2204 motor with 30a ESC's

JBlake

Reaction score
Hello everyone!

I am new to this forum, and I have a quick question to ask, as I can not find a solid answer anywhere

I am currently building 3 racing drones, and I have some parts left over to do another drone.

what i have left to build another drone is 4x 2204 motors, and 4x 30a ESC, along with the FC etc.

I just want to know if its safe to use 2204 motors with 30a ESC? the frame size is 220

thank you for your reply,

I should also mention that i am also new to the world of quad racing drones.

I do not know the burst rate, i can look it up.

my concern is that 30amp ESC's would be too much for a 2204 motor, as most people would use between a 12amp to 20amp ESC with this size motor, and because these are left over parts i have bought before, i did not want to have to buy lower amp ESC's or buy different motors.

I was just hoping that the motors would be fine with the higher amp ESC's and i would just stick with an 11.1v 3S lipo battery. i know the motors are rated for 3-4S batteries, but just concerned about the ESC's giving to much power, and overheat the motors.

im confused, that is the problem, when i use 30amp ESC's i would use a 2205 and up motor, all my builds are using 30amp ESC's except for one that is using a 40amp ESC paired with 2306 motors.

but if you are saying that 30amp ESC is fine with these motors then i am fine to continue the build?

That is what i was thinking, it is better to have more, than not enough, like a 6amp ESC's would be to low for the motors, but anything over what they recommend would be fine?

not sure how true that is with quads, but that is how i first thought, and just wanted to ask some of the members here who have more experience than my 3 months of building them.